National Curriculum Key Stages

0 +

Expert Tutors

0 +


0 +


uk year groups 65bbc04b0f761

National Curriculum Key Stages

Key stage Pupil's
Year group
(England & Wales)
Year group
Early years
foundation stage
3-5 Nursery, Reception Nursery, P1 EYFS
Key stage 1 5-7 Y1, Y2 P2, P3 KS1
Key stage 2 7-11 Y3, Y4, Y5, Y6 P4, P5, P6, P7 KS2
Key stage 3 11-14 Y7, Y8, Y9 S1, S2, S3 KS3
Key stage 4 14-16 Y10, Y11 S3, S4, S5 KS4

Educational Journey England

Educational Journey Wales

The Foundation Phase is akin to EYFS in England, covering Nursery and Reception.
Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 3 follow a similar age and year structure as in England.
Post-16 education is also referred to as ‘Sixth Form’ with Year 12 and Year 13.

Educational Journey Scotland

The system is distinctively different, starting with the Early Level which is equivalent to Nursery in other UK regions.
First Level to Second Level covers a range similar to KS1 and KS2 in England but extends to S1, the first year of secondary education.
Third/Fourth Level typically corresponds to S1-S3, with Senior Phase (S4-S6) being the final stage where students take National Qualifications, including Highers and Advanced Highers.

Schedule a Call with Our Tutor Matching Experts

Our Tutor Matching Experts are on hand to help match you and your perfect tutor, get in touch!
Book Now !